Feb 16, 2011

Rafael Nadal and Lindsey Vonn Win 2011 Laureus Awards

The Spanish tennis star Rafael Nadal won the Sportsman of The Year, while the American skiing athlete Lindsey Vonn won the Sportswoman of The Year. Those are the top honors of 2011 Laureus World Sports Awards.

Established in 1999, Laureus World Sports Awards are awarded annually to sportspeople who have been outstanding during the previous year. This year event, which was held in Abu Dhabi on 7 February 2011, also chose Spain World Cup winner as World Team of The Year.

Rafael Nadal is the winner of three Grand Slam titles in 2010. He beat other nominees including Los Angeles Lakers star Kobe Bryant, Filipino boxer Manny Pacquiao and Barcelona footballers Andres Iniesta and Lionel Messi.

Lindsey Vonn, winner of the women's downhill at the 2010 Vancouver Olympic Games and a third consecutive overall World Cup title, took the sportswoman's award. Among the other nominees are high jumper Blanka Vlasic and tennis players Serena Williams, Kim Clijsters and Caroline Wozniacki.

These are the complete list of 2011 Laureus Award Winners:

World Sportsman of the Year: Rafael Nadal (Spain)

World Sportswoman of the Year: Lindsey Vonn (US)

World Team of the Year: Spain World Cup Team

World Breakthrough of the Year: Martin Kaymer (Germany)

World Comeback of the Year: Valentino Rossi (Italy)

World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability: Verena Bentele (Germany)

World Action Sportsperson of the Year: Kelly Slater (US)

Lifetime Achievement Award: Zinedine Zidane (France)

Spirit of Sport Award: European Ryder Cup team

Sport for Good Award: May El-Khalil, founder of the Beirut Marathon

Related Posts by Categories:


Post a Comment

We really appreciate if you don't use inappropriate words and links for commenting. Thanks You.